top of page

Crumbling Walls of Jericho


“If you would have told me a couple of years ago that I’d be spending my Saturday nights in a brothel or a strip-club, I would have laughed. I would have told you that I am too shy and insecure for that, and that I am really uncomfortable with nakedness and strong language.. However, after a Fighting for our Daughters Conference, I felt the gentle yet unmistakable nudge of the Holy Spirit to go up to Jess from Rahab Ministries and offer my help and my time.

It’s been about a year now since I started visiting Toowoomba’s legal brothel on Saturday nights, and I think it’s safe to say that it is nothing like I expected it to be. Yes, there is a lot of nudity and yes, the women are pretty rough around the edges, but opposed to what I thought, they are not scary or intimidating, and they only sometimes make me feel uncomfortable. They are broken and in desperate need of someone who would love them at their darkest and accept them as they are with the baggage they carry.

One of the many women I’ve met, is Nola. Nola is a fierce 43 year old woman, former sex worker and now manager of the legal brothel. When we first met, her heart was hard as a stone and offended almost by the very fact that I would come in to her workplace and spend time with her. She did not understand how I would want to “waste my time” on her, without getting anything in return. She’d often ask me “why”. Why would I want to listen to her sad story? Why would I keep coming back? Love, is what I answered. Unconditional love. Christ’s love. Even though she was a bit taken aback by that answer, she accepted it eventually. Slowly but surely, Nola started opening up and sharing bits and pieces of her heartbreaking life’s story. She let us in, and allowed us to speak into her life.

The Nola I know now is much different than the Nola I first met. Her heart has softened, her bitterness has made room for joy, and her spirit is no longer quenched but thirsty. She’s started asking questions about God and for her birthday this year, the Rahab team and myself gave her a Bible. Often now, she asks questions about what she’s been reading.

A week or two ago, Nola mentioned that she’s never really been celebrated on her birthday. That the day often just passes by, like any other day. Because of that, we felt led to give Nola 42 more gifts. Each one to represent each year she was overlooked and forgotten. We wanted her to know that she deserved to be celebrated and that she’s valuable in God’s eyes. At the City Women Breakfast, where Nola spoke on how the “Rahab-angels” have changed her life and impacted her, we presented her with the gifts, which we obtained with the help of numerous women from the city of Toowoomba. It was a powerful statement that touched her heart. And ours as well.

Nola might not have given her life to the Lord yet, but I believe she is closer now then she was. I am praying for her. Just as the walls of Jericho could only keep Rahab until they crumbled to the ground and the God of Israel won the battle, I believe that God is going to have the victory. And I’ll do my part and keep on walking around the walls of Nola’s heart until the Lord breaks them down fully and sets her free.”

Rahab is a non-denominational Christian minsitry with volunteers who have a heart for those in the sex industry and are dedicated to showing them the love of Jesus. We as Freedom Project love what they are doing and members of our team will support them through volunteering and in prayer in our free time. If you are interested in learning more about their ministry, you can go to the link below:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page